I Can Say That

As a high school student, your options for income are limited to meanial jobs like babysitting, waiting/hosting in local restaurants, tutoring, retail, or fast-food. I chose the fast-food route with a nice family run company. Everyone is hired based off of their welcoming, positive spirit. I can honestly say that my coworkers are some of the best people I’ve ever met. My first few days were terrifying in that high speed whirlwind of cooks, servers, order-takers, costumers, and a chaotic jumble of voices. Now, I’ve been working here for a few months and I no longer am lost in that chaotic jumble. Instead, I’m part of it. I’ll be honest, it’s not all rainbows and sunshine.

in-n-out-burger dining
Saturday, October 17, 2015
Every work shift had been long and drawn out that week. I wasn’t mentally prepared to spend six hours at work, knowing it would feel like twelve hours. There are multiple ways I could be useful at work but the bosses had me working the same position all week. I clocked in and like a robot I returned to the position I’d been working all week. It was a rough start. I was up to my neck in dishes, the cooks needed me to grab water for them, and every costumer had an add-on or a change in their order. Adam came back to wash my dishes so I focused on only the costumers. Sorry, cooks. The cars weren’t moving fast enough. Drivers kept being distracted by their phones; one lady completely passed me. I was working the pay window. I was pounding my fists on the window, complaining under my breath, and turning around to growl at Adam in frustration.
And then something magical happened. I wasn’t mad anymore. My attitude changed and my positivity was through the roof. It was amazing! After my break, I was moved to a different position surrounded by some of my favorite people. We joked and laughed about things on we’d understand. My boss called for me to clock-out and I called back saying “But I want to stay!” As I left, my coworkers joked saying that I couldn’t leave because we were having too much fun. It was a corny TV movie moment where everything really is sunshine and rainbows. I didn’t just walk out of work; I danced and sang my way into my car while wishing every person I knew goodwill over text and in person.

I can say that I love my job.

Leave a Reply

