Are You Quotable?

Being remembered for your style, voice, intelligence, or personality is flattering but when someone can quote you word for word, you know you’ve made an impact.

“Dark blue, dark blue, have you ever been alone in a crowded room, when I’m here with you”

Dark Blue by Jack’s Mannequin

dark blue

Anything you say is probably a song lyric. If you type a random sentence or phrase into Google and “lyrics” at the end, you’ll find some crazy songs. While reflecting on the phrase “Being alone”, I immediately thought of Dark Blue. (I only know that one line in the entire song so the rest of my day was very repetitive.) Lyrics with personal ties are easily quotable. For example, every Disney song or 90’s songs and theme songs that bonded me to my older siblings.

“It’s a fine thing to honor your pops by filling his shoes but those shoes don’t fit. Doesn’t mean you have to go through life barefoot.”

Chicago Fire

PicMonkey Collage PicMonkey Collage2

I love a good analogy and this one hit the nail on the head! As one actor delivers this memorable line (depicted in picture 3) to Peter Mills – who is in dire need of guidance – Peter’s jaw literally drops (depicted in picture 4). I found this quote inspiring enough for me to write it on my history homework!

“If your heart is bleeding, make the best of it. There is heat in freezing, be a testament.”

– Tanya Davis

how-to-be-alone While watching this contemplative video, I remember loving Tanya Davis’ charm and creativity. I took random mental screenshots but this is the only line I can quote.I’m a singer, so rhymes have a special place in my heart. I find them personable and enduring. Artists take the additional time to make couplets or rhyme multitudes of lines and as an occasional poet I have a deep respect for this extra effort.

“You’re the smartest guy I ever met and you’re too stupid to see, he made up his mind 10 minutes ago.”

– Breaking Bad

hank-orange-breaking-bad

Breaking Bad was one of the most addictive shows I ever got hooked on! I haven’t seen it in months but I still have this line memorized. There are too many quotable moments from Breaking Bad but I believe Hank takes the cake. These words sadly weren’t his final words (his final sentence was cut off by a bullet and many tears from the viewers), but – with his characteristic sarcastic yet serious attitude – he gets to tell off Walter and say goodbye.

I quote people everyday. Try it! If you look at the different people I quoted, you’ll notice they are extremely different. I would have never found these unforgettable quotes if I wasn’t open to new ideas. By quoting someone, you aren’t just helping spread their message. You’re opening the door to new discussions!! I aspire to be someone that people quote. If you had the chance to say one influential phrase or sentence that everyone knew you by, what would you say?

A quote a day keeps writer’s block at bay!

Leave a Reply

